New mum sleep deprivation

22 Feb

Wow there really isn’t anything quite like sleep deprivation! For me it really is like the worst form of torture – although of course I’ve never actually been exposed to torture and clearly there are far far worse things! 🙂

Baby Theo has actually been a pretty good sleeper from day one and only really ever woke for his night feeds and occasionally wants his dummy/pacifier put back in. Yet I’ve become a complete insomniac, sometimes only sleeping a few hours a night, simply because I’ll get woken up by one of his movements or night time sleep cries and then can’t fall back asleep.

Usually the less I sleep the worse the next night is going to be, it’s quite hard to break out of the vicious cycle. Forget about the baby being overtired, this is mummy being overtired!

Last night I was awake between 12am-3am, I sat at my computer and did some work, just couldn’t face lying in bed awake any longer. And as we are changing LO’s routine right now, he did wake up with a loud cry at 2.30am, 4.30am, 5.30am and then I finally fed him at 6.30am. After which he falls into a deep sleep… makes me think perhaps I should just feed him at night so we can at least enjoy a few more hours of undisturbed sleep.

Fingers crossed that once this new routine kicks in he’ll actually have good daytime naps and will sleep more soundly at night. I’ll write an update soon!

Leave a Reply

